On June 24, Foghat will release a new album, Under the Influence. It is their 17th studio record and first since 2010’s Last Train Home.
The project, which took three years to come to fruition, brings together the current lineup — founding drummer Roger Earl, singer/guitarist Charlie Huhn, lead guitarist Bryan Bassett and bassist Craig MacGregor, who has played on and off with them since 1976 — with some important names from their past. Kim Simmonds, the guitarist of Savoy Brown, which Earl and two other men left to form Foghat, makes an appearance. Also, Nick Jameson, who played bass on “Slow Ride,” sat it on a new version of their biggest hit, which celebrates the 40th anniversary of “Slow Ride.”