He has one of the most powerful and distinctive voices in hard rock history, heard on such classics as “Once Bitten, Twice Shy”, “Rock Me” and “Save Your Love”. He is Jack Russell, the inimitable vocalist and founding member of ’80s metal legends GREAT WHITE, and he has recently reissued his 1996 debut solo album, “Shelter Me”. The LP, released after a decade’s worth of blockbuster albums for Capitol Records, finds the hard-living singer in fine form, belting out both ballads and rockers with gusto to spare. Highlights include the ballsy cover of THE BEATLES’ “Hey Bulldog”, an emotional version of the GREAT WHITE classic “Save Your Love”, as well as the poignant title track, “Shelter Me”, which expresses empathy for the growing homeless population. Musically, the album is right in line with GREAT WHITE’s brand of LED ZEPPELIN-inspired blues rock with stellar guitar work from Matthew Johnson and Michael Lardie as well as a rhythm section that includes iconic bassist Tim Bogert (JEFF BECK, VANILLA FUDGE) and drummer Myron Grombacher. This special reissue revises the front cover album art, placing Russell front and center, and features an extensive booklet with complete lyrics.
“Shelter Me” track listing:
01. Shelter Me
02. Take My Pain
03. Leave Me Lonely
04. Long Way To Go
05. Hey Bulldog
06. You’ll Lose A Good Thing
07. Twenty-Four/Seven
08. The Fault’s All Mine
09. Roll With The Tide
10. Faith In You
11. Save Your Love
12. Shine On
13. When I Look Into Your Eyes