Big country hit covered by supergroup feat. Nikki Sixx, Rob Zombie, John 5 and Tommy Clufetos


Nikki Sixx, Rob Zombie, John 5 and Tommy Clufetos formed a new supergroup, L.A. Rats on the occasion of the recording of “I’ve Been Everywhere” by Geoff Mack for the movie “The Ice Road”.

Note that Hank Snow’s version of the song went to No.1 on the American country charts in 1962 and Johnny Cash also recorded a cover on his “Unchained” album, which was his second through American Recordings, produced by Rick Rubin.

The film, starring Liam Neeson, will premiere on Netflix on June 25. It is a road movie where a snowplow driver undertakes the mission to rescue a group of miners in a mine that collapsed.

The musicians have reunited since Clufetos was a former member of Rob Zombie’s band, as has John 5, who collaborated with Nikki Sixx on 3 new Motley Crue songs for their recent film “The Dirt”.

“Isn’t it ironic? This song that’s so rock and roll, that’s so country, that’s so all of it — it’s the traveling circus, city to city, riff to riff, greasy cheeseburger, rinse and repeat. It’s poetry based on reality — and it’s something every one of us has lived.

We wanted to bring that fire that’s Johnny Cash, but it’s also how do we flip it? So, John 5 and I brought in this Zeppelin-y half-time thing from the beginning with Rob talking on the outro. But I also did some stuff (that suggested the original) like those big walks through the guitar parts upright player style, which is something I don’t do in Mötley or Sixx:A.M. We all had that freedom to go other places, and we did.”

“We all grew up thinking great bands don’t follow the rules or drive the speed limit. When I called Rob up, he said, ‘I’ve always loved Johnny Cash, and I’ve always loved this song.’ I think that’s what we all share: we all play live and know there’s this magic (that comes from that); there’s the swagger you can feel, that energy you can smell. This song has all that, and that’s what we went after”, comments Nikki Sixx.

“The Ice Road: Music From And Inspired By The Netflix Film”, ie the soundtrack of the movie will be released on the same day as the movie and the tracklist is as follows:

01. “All I Do Is Drive” – Jason Isbell
02. “Rubber Meets The Road” – Brantley Gilbert, Tyler Hubbard
03. “Eighteen Wheels and A Dozen Roses” – Carly Pearce
04. “I’ve Been Everywhere” – L.A. RATS

05. “We Got Fight” – Gary LeVox
06. “I’m Movin’ On” – Miranda Lambert
07. “Six Days On The Road” – THE CADILLAC THREE
08. “Don’t Come Lookin'” – Jackson Dean
09. “Hurricane” – Luke Combs
10. “Heart Made Of Steel” – THE ASSASSINZS feat. John Carter Cash, Robin Zander
11. “All Coming Down” – Mark Collie, Allison Moorer
12. “Drive” – Tim McGraw