On April 22, 1980, Rainbow will release Monsters of Rock — Live at Donington 1980, a DVD and CD combo pack from their Aug. 16, 1980 set. You can watch a clip of “All Night Long” from the performance above.
This was the inaugural Monsters of Rock Festival, held at Castle Donington, England. Rainbow were headliners of a bill that also included Judas Priest and Scorpions. As it turned out, this was the last performance of Rainbow’s Down to Earth lineup that included star guitarist Ritchie Blackmore, his former Deep Purple band mate Roger Glover on bass, hard rock veterans Cozy Powell (drums) and Don Airey (keyboards) and the relatively obscure Graham Bonnet, who took over on vocals after Ronnie James Dio left to join Black Sabbath.
The DVD contains eight songs, while the CD has 12, including solos by Blackmore, Airey and Powell. The press release notes that this is all the footage from the concert that has survived, and that it’s the first time the audio has been available on a full-length CD. The complete track listing can be found below.
This summer, Blackmore will perform rock music in public for the first time since 1997. So far he has three dates booked, June 17 and 18 in Germany and June 25 in Birmingham, England, and is considering adding more dates. His Renaissance folk music group, Blackmore’s Night, will tour Europe in July and the U.S. in August.
Monsters of Rock – Live at Donington 1980 Track Listing
1. “Lazy”
2. “All Night Long”
3. “Catch the Rainbow”
4. “Eyes of the World”
5. “Guitar Solo”
6. “Difficult to Cure”
7. “Will You Love Me Tomorrow”
8. “Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll”
1. “Intro / Eyes of the World”
2. “Since You Been Gone”
3. “Stargazer”
4. “Catch the Rainbow”
5. “Lost in Hollywood” / “Guitar Solo”
6. “Difficult to Cure” / “Keyboard Solo”
7. “Drum Solo” / “Lost in Hollywood (reprise)”
8. “Lazy”
9. “All Night Long”
10. “Blues”
11. “Will You Love Me Tomorrow”
12. “Long Live Rock ‘n’ Roll”