Revolution Saints – Revolution Saints


I am always cautious every time a new supergroup pops up as most of the times this doesn’t happen out of an artistic necessity but mostly out of greed from a record label that wants to cash on the name and the recognition of the band members. Needless to say that there are some exceptions to the rule and I’d like to think that Revolution Saints fits in this category.

This new supergroup consists of Deen Castronovo (Journey), Jack Blades (Night Ranger), Doug Aldrich (ex-Whitesnake, Dio).The eponymous debut was released a while ago and I must say that I was personally really satisfied by it although I must underline that there are only a handful of really impressive moments on the album. This is a bunch of songs that reminded me something in between of the last two Journey records and all those new AOR records that bear Alessandro Del Vecchio’s stamp on them. The star of the album is definitely Deen Castronovo whose voice is absolutely mesmerizing and warm with Doug Aldrich’s guitar shining all the way through the tracks. Jack Blades seems content with a backseat ride on this one while the compositions themselves are remarkable and memorable with “You’re Not Alone”, “Locked Out Of Paradise” and “Way To The Sun” being the most impressive, standout moments.

Again, the debut album by Revolution Saints might not set the world on fire but it is a quite imposing and flawless labor of art and I guess that’s what really counts. Will there be a successor…? Only time will tell…

Highlight: Neal Schon and Arnel Pineda are also featured on a couple of tracks on the album.