William Shatner Collaborates With Ritchie Blackmore


There’s nothing that the legendary William Shatner can’t do, and his off-screen career, particularly in the field of music, keeps on proving this point. Yet while most of the actor’s previous albums – such as “Ponder The Mystery” – and guest spots usually deployed him in a space-related capacity, “The Blues” that’s scheduled for an October 2nd release will find the veteran deliver exactly what the title says: blues classics – penned by Robert Johnson, the Kings, Albert and B. B., Muddy Waters and other genre-shapers – plus THE DEAD SOUTH smash “In Hell I’ll Be In Good Company” and one original. The first single from the record, already issued, is “Let’s Work Together” which sees Shatner backed by the song’s premier performers, CANNED HEAT and Harvey Mandel, but the are more participants in the project.
Among those whose parts were recorded remotely obviously are luminaries like Albert Lee and Ritchie Blackmore, Steve Cropper and Pat Travers, as well as younger players, including Brad Paisley and Tyler Bryant, so variety is guaranteed. For what it’s worth, an interesting thing.

  1. Sweet Home Chicago – feat. Brad Paisley
  2. I Can’t Quit You Baby – feat. Kirk Fletcher
  3. Sunshine Of Your Love – feat. Sonny Landreth
  4. The Thrill Is Gone – feat. Ritchie Blackmore
  5. Mannish Boy – feat. Ronnie Earl
  6. Born Under A Bad Sign – feat. Tyler Bryant
  7. I Put A Spell On You – feat. Pat Travers
  8. Crossroads – feat. James Burton
  9. Smokestack Lightnin’ – feat. Jeff “Skunk” Baxter
  10. As The Years Go Passing By – feat. Arthur Adams
  11. Let’s Work Together – feat. Harvey Mandel & CANNED HEAT
  12. Route 66 – feat. Steve Cropper
  13. In Hell I’ll Be In Good Company – feat. Albert Lee
  14. Secrets Or Sins