Metal Allegiance – Volume II: Power Drunk Majesty


Besides Mark Menghi-bass (ex-Constricted, ex-Gutter Poet), I do not think that Alex Skolnick, David Ellefson and Mike Portnoy need any recommendations. The four musicians launched their first super group metal attack with their self-titled 2015 debut. With “Volume II Power Drunk Majesty”, the project now gives the impression of a normal-over-bound and conscious band. When musicians of this magnitude bind synthetically, then the result is amazing.

Two singers return from the first Metal Allegiance, Mark Osegueda (Death Angel) and Troy Sanders (Mastodon), with the addition of seven new guests on the vocals, so take a deep breath: Trevor Strnad (The Black Dahlia Murder), John Bush (Armored Saint) , Bobby “Blitz” Ellsworth (Overkill), Mark Tornillo (Accept), Johan Hegg (Amon Amarth), Max Cavalera (Soulfly) and Floor Jansen (Nightwish). There are three guest guitarists (instead of nine in the first album), and these are Andreas Kisser (Sepultura), Nita Strauss (The Iron Maidens) and Joe Satriani.

“The Accuser” comes in as a Thrash-Slayerish metal storm. Supersonic, speedy, riffs like blades and vocals by Trevor Strnad. “Bound by Silence” (Metallica meets Megadeth meets Anthrax) with John Bush on vocals, has a Pantera vibe on the chorus that takes the track to another level. Shock on “Mother of Sin” with the voice of Bobby Blitz, the best vocals on the album! Mark Tornillo stands for Accept the last few years, and this aura comes to “Terminal Illusion”. “King with a Paper Crown” is sung by Johan Hegg and his death metal vocals make it even darker. Just form the tribal introduction you may understand who sings on “Voodoo of the Godsend,” joining forces with Andreas Kisser, for the first time since 1996 and fleeing Sepultura. Max Cavalera – Guarantee! “Liars & Thieves” (Troy Sanders) sounds like Metallica meets Exodus, on an album that ends in the best possible way. “Impulse Control” is the most metal and less thrash song of the album, with a bold bass introduction and a wonderful guitar solo, with vocals from Mark Osegueda. “Power Drunk Majesty” divided into two parts is what makes this album really great, and you can understand it from the Jeff Waters like– melodic riff introduction (vocals Mark Osegueda on part I). A progressive thrash metal epic, combining many ideas with a total duration of about 9 minutes. It does not get tiring at any point; you just can’t have enough of it, and gives Floor Jansen the most advantageous role, brilliantly closing an aggressive / politicized thrash metal album.